Skip to content

AD10: Crime and security in East Africa: Burundians feel most secure

12 Apr 2015

The East African Community (EAC) is an intergovernmental organisation comprising five countries in the Great Lakes region: Burundi, Rwanda, Kenya, Tanzania, and Uganda.

The EAC has a protocol that identifies objectives for fostering regional peace and security. These include combating terrorism and piracy, prevention of genocide, disaster management and crisis response, management of refugees, control of proliferation of small arms and light weapons, combating transnational and cross-border crimes, dispute settlement, and regional and international co-operation in peace and security matters. At the national level, each country has put in place mechanisms to fight crime so as to promote peace and security.