Skip to content
Briefing paper

BP54: East African Federation: Tanzanians favor greater economic integration, but wary of stronger political links

Afrobarometer Briefing Paper No. 54
2 Dec 2008 Tanzania
Download (English)

The East African Community was originally comprised of three countries: Tanzania, Kenya and Uganda.  These three states have a history of cooperation dating back to the early 20th century, including the Customs Union between Kenya and Uganda in 1917, which Tanzania (then Tanganyika) joined in 1927, the East Africa High Commission (1948-1961), the East African Common Services (1961-1967) and the East African Community (1967-1977).  The East African Community collapsed in 1977 largely as a result of political differences among the member states.