BP90: Integration in East Africa: Uninformed Kenyans oppose political federation

Welcome to the Afrobarometer publications section. For short, topical analyses, try our briefing papers (for survey rounds 1-5) and dispatches (starting with Round 6). For longer, more technical analyses of policy issues, check our policy papers. Our working papers are full-length analytical pieces developed for publication in academic journals or books. You can also search the entire publications database by keyword(s), language, country, and/or author.

Filter content by:

Briefing papers
Kivuvu, Joshua

When the treaty establishing the East African Community came into force on July 7, 2000, the three East African countries of Kenya, Uganda and Tanzania officially set their goal as the creation of a federation of East African states.  The founders of the East African Federation (EAF) expected it to be realized in four stages – a customs union , a common market , a monetary union , and eventually a political federation  to be achieved in 2013.  A committee on Fast Tracking East African Federation (the Wako Committee)  was established to help speed up the process. A timetable was made according to which a referendum on the establishment of the federation would be held in September 2009, and a Transitional Federal Government put in place by January 2010.  Between 2010 and 2012, the major institutions of the federal government are to be put in place.  They include a Transitional Federal Parliament, Judges of the East Africa Supreme Court, joint Defense Forces, Federal Police and other Federal Institutions as provided for under the Treaty.  This will culminate in the establishment of the Federation of Eastern Africa States in 2013.

Related content